2011 Blas na hEireann Winners

Chocolates – Presented by Birgitta Hedin-Curtin, one of our Patrons
Joint Gold Winners: Chocolate Here – Milk Chocolate Bar with Rosewater and Raspberrym www.chocolatehere.ie
                                Butlers Chocolate – Dark Chocolate Bar with crunchy mint pieces www.butlerschocolates.com
Silver: Chocolate Here – White Chocolate Bar with Lemon and Poppyseed
Bronze: Butlers Chocolates – Milk Chocolate Bar with hazelnuts

Confectionery
Gold: Aran Candy Company – Dominion  Gourmet Jelly Beans www.thejellybeanfactory.com
Silver: The Cake Stand – Vanilla Macaroons www.thecakestand.ie
Bronze: Just Desserts  – Carrot Cake Muffins

Puddings & Desserts
Gold: Couverture Desserts – Simply Better Chocolate Gateaux www.couverture.ie
Silver: Diva Boutique – Lemon Meringue Pie www.divaboutiquebakery.blogspot.com
Bronze: Elizabeth Ann Fox – Rose Scented Berry Tart

Sauces & Dips – presented by David Chandler of Blenders
Gold: Taravale – Country Fresh Pesto
Silver: Mileeven – Deluxe Cranberry and Port Sauce www.mileeven.com
Bronze: The Tipperary Kitchen – Butterscotch Sauce www.thetipperarykitchen.ie

Dairy
Gold: Irish Yogurt – Supreme Lemon Curd Yogurt www.irish-yogurts.ie
Silver: Irish Yogurt – Finest Madagascan Vanilla Yogurt
Bronze: Irish Yogurt – Duneen Specially Selected West Cork Indulgence Toffee Yogurt

Ice Cream
Gold: Silver Pail – Supreme Truffle Fudge www.silverpail.com
Silver: Silver pail – Mango Sorbet
Bronze: Silver Pail – Corrin Hill Sticky Toffee

Cheese
Gold: J L Grubb – Irish Cashel Blue www.cashelblue.com
Silver: JOD Food Products – Native Irish Naturally Oak Smoked Cheddar
Bronze: Wicklow Farmhouse – Wicklow Blue www.wicklowfarmhousecheeseltd.ie

Sausages
Gold: AIBP Cahir – Cheese & Onion Pork Sausages www.aibp.ie
Silver: Olhausen – Glensallagh Pork Sausages http://olhausens.ie/
Bronze: Olhausen – Deluxe Premium Sausages

Pudding
Gold: Brady Family – Supreme White Pudding
Silver: Brady Family/Rudds – Rudds Black Pudding
Bronze: Truly Irish County Food – White Pudding www.trulyirish.ie

Cured Meats
Gold: Glen Aine Foods – Honey Baked Boneless Ham for Horgans http://glenaine.ie/
Silver: Callan Bacon – Glensallagh Eye Loin Joint –Smoked Bacon callanbacon.com
Bronze: Tom Durcan – Spiced Beef

Bacon
Gold: Callan Bacon – Smoked Bacon Eye Loin Sweet Cure Bacon
Silver: Callan Bacon – Smoked Back Bacon Joint
Bronze: Callan Bacon – Sweet Cured Pork Loin with a Mixed Pepper Crust

Fresh Meat – presented by David Chandler of Blenders
Gold: AIBP Cahir –  Beef Rib on the Bone with Peppercorn Crust for Superquinn
Silver: Western Brand – Select Cut Irish Cut Chicken westernbrandni.com
Bronze: AIBP Cahir – Specially Selected Fillet Steak

Terrines & Pates
Gold: The Food Store – Smoked Salmon Terrine
Silver: On The Pig’s Back – Chicken Liver Pate with Smoked Bacon & Port www.onthepigsback.ie
Bronze: Flynns Kitchen – Chicken Liver Pate www.flynnskitchen.ie

Pies & Quiches – Presented by Ross Golden Bannon of the Sunday Business Post
Gold:Una’s Pies – Roasted Veg with Ardsallagh Goats Cheese Pie
Silver: Una’s Pies – Chicken with Gubeen Chorizo and Red Pepper Pie
Bronze: Una’s Pies – Chicken & Asparagus Pie

Fish & Seafood – Presented Martin Shannahan  one of our Patrons
Joint Gold: Sushi King – Neptune 6 piece Box www.sushiking.ie
The Kenmare Salmon Company – Organic Smoked Irish Salmon with a hint of Seaweed www.kenmare-select.com
Silver: Dunn’s Seafare – Oak-roasted Salmon Darnes with Black pepper www.dunns.ie
Bronze: Dunn’s Seafer – Oak Roasted Salmon Darnes with Chilli & Coriander

Soups & Ready Meals
Joint Gold: Glorious Sushi – Rainbow Mix Sushi Platter www.glorioussushi.com
Wonderfoods – Italian Style Roasting Vegetables www.wonderfoods.ie
Silver: Sushi King – The Atlantis Five-Piece Box
Bronze: Flynn’s Kitchen – Butternut and Sweet Potato Soup

Bread
Gold: Pat the Baker – Traditional White Batch Loaf http://patthebaker.com/
Silver: Diva Boutique Bakery – Multi-seed & Rye Loaf
Bronze:The Village Home  Bakery – Brown Soda Bread

Functional Foods
Gold: Billy’s Bakery – Multi seed spelt sodabread www.billysbakeryballina.com
Silver: Pure Foods – Flourless Brownies
Bronze: Gookies – Gluten Free Cranberry & White Choc Chip Cookie Dough

Breakfast Cereals
Gold: Foods of Athenry – Very Berry High Omega Granola www.foodsofathenry.ie
Joint Silver: Kelkin – Triple Berry Oat Granola www.kelkin.ie
Nutrisnax – Breakfast on The Go
Bronze: Nash 19 – Cinamon Infused Granola www.nash19.com

Spirits & Liqueurs
Gold: Cooley Distillery – Avoca Aged Blended Irish Whiskey www.cooleywhiskey.com
Silver: Robert A Merry & Co – Merry’s Cream Liqueur http://www.merrysirishcream.com/
Bronze: Cooley distillery – Avoca Irish Whiskey

Beer & Cider
Gold: Dungarvan Brewing – Black Rock Irish Stout dungarvanbrewingcompany.com
Silver: Carlow Brewing Company – O’Sheas Traditional Ale www.carlowbrewing.com
Bronze: Carlow Brewing Company – O’Sheas Traditional Stout

Category 22 – Chilled Drinks
Gold:The Different Dairy Company – Organic for Us Wholemilk organicforus.ie
Silver: Mulrines  – NFC Smooth Orange Juice http://www.mulrines.ie/
Bronze: Adare Farm – Fresh Milk www.adarefarm.ie

Teas & Coffes
Gold: Barber Daly – Reserve Fair Trade Tea
Silver: Java Republic – Rich Roast Coffee Beans
Bronze: Bailies Coffee Company – Bailies Signature Blend www.bailiescoffee.com

Oils, Seasonings & Dresssings
Gold: Green Saffron  – Korma Spice Blend www.greensaffron.com
Silver: Limerick Strand Hotel – Caesar Dressing www.strandhotellimerick.ie
Bronze: Simplee – Herb Salt http://simplee.ie/

Pickles & Chutneys
Gold: Follain – Supreme fire roasted  pepper relish www.follain.ie
The Scullery  – Irish Country Tomato Relish
Bronze: Follain – Irish Kitchen Country Relish Chargrilled Pepper

Preserves, Conserves & marmalades
Gold: Healy’s Honey – Specially Selected Orange Blossom Honey
Joint Silver:Bluirini Blasta – Lemon Curd
Healy’s Honey – Supreme Orange Blossom Honey
Bronze: Healy’s Honey – Specially Selected Clover Honey

Cakes
Gold: The Food Store – Chocolate Biscuit Cake
Silver: Silver Pail – Stickey Toffee Ice Cream Cake
Bronze: Just Desserts – Rocky Road Gateaux

Biscuits
Gold: The Market Foodstore – Caramel Squares
Silver: Kooky Dough – Triple chocolate chip cookie dough www.kookydough.ie
Bronze: Gookies – Milk Chocolate Chip Cookie dough

Savoury Snacks
Gold: Tayto NI – Supreme Thai  Chili & Red Pepper Chrisps
Silver: Tayto NI – Seasalt & Cider Vinegar Hand Cooked Crisps
Bronze: Largo Foods – Okey Dokeys

Cake & Bread Mixes
Joint Gold: Sowan’s Organic – Gluten Free chocolate brownie mix
Cathy’s Spelt for Health – Tomato & Herb Spelt bread/pizza base mix
Silver: Nash 19 – Brown Bread Mix
Bronze: Sowan’s Organic – Mega Spelt Bread Mix

AND NOW FOR OUR MAJOR AWARDS OF THE NIGHT
Business Diversification Award, Sponsored by AIB – presented by Padraic O’Connor, AIB Dingle - Limerick Strand Hotel for The Secret Ingredient Range of Products
The Seafood Innovation Award, Sponsored by BIM – presented by Susan Steele  - Keoghans for their microwaveable Salmon with butter
Best New Emerging Food Producer from Kerry, Sponsored by Kerry Enterprise – presented by Tomas Hayes – The Cloudberry Bakery
Best New Product, Sponsored by Enterprise Ireland – presented by Gareth Dee -  O’Connors Bakery for their Mince Meat
Rogha na Gaeltachta, Sponsored by Udaras na Gaeltachta – presented by Seamus Cosai - Blurini Blasta
Best Artisan Producer, Sponsored by An Bord Bia – presented by Eileen Bently - Una’s Pies

FINALLY
OUR SUPREME CHAMPION 2011 AWARD  GOES TO BARBER DALY  FOR THEIR RESERVE FAIRTRADE TEA